Aside

I think that there is a key difference between understanding and mastery. Berry states that he finds it absurd that “that if a student is not going to become a teacher of his language, he has no need to master it”. I cannot see what problem he has with this concept. Should we all master mathematics and sciences and economics as well because they play such important roles in our lives? No, I don’t think so. I think that a core understanding of each is all that is necessary unless one chooses to work towards mastery (to, say, become a professor of that study).

Berry complains about the “published illiteracies of the certified educated”. What an epidemic. I can’t help but feel more concern over entirely illiterate and impoverished peoples not only of the United States but across the globe, but I suppose occasional spelling mistakes among the highly educated is an important problem most certainly worth debating over.

 

I think that there is a core of literacy skills that every english-speaking person should aspire to, and that’s that. Mastery is optional, reserved for those who wish to pursue it, whether they be writers, professors, journalists, or they just choose to. 

Leave a comment